Soldier On


I just watched the latest Extreme Makeover: Home Edition and it was amazing. The team focused on a Marine, Daniel Gilyeat, who had his leg blown off in the war. His wife left him and his 3 daughters and son. So now he is a one-legged single dad. The Extreme Team sent then off to California and destroyed their house.

The best part was when they took down the Flag American and Marine Corps Flag Marine flag (the right way) and replaced it with this behemoth pole and flags. The Marines came out and raised the flags. When Daniel got home the guys who had saved his life were there. As the camera panned over the Marines they had tears streaming down their cheeks. Daniel and the Marine who saved his life bear-hugged each other. You could hear Daniel thanking the young man for not only saving his life but ensuring that his kids had a Dad to grow up with. WOW, I was crying, my wife was crying, that was a cry worthy event.

The other thing that touched me was when the guy in charge of building his home thanked him for serving and keeping him and his family free.

Not much spiritual stuff today. But I do want to bring something up. When you see people, especially older people, with the Vietnam hats and other clothing indicating they were in the military, stop and take the time to say thanks. MANY, MANY of them have never heard that. I promise it will put a smile in your heart and it may be the greatest thing they have ever heard. I try to express my thanks as often as I meet someone who served. Regardless of your politics or your feelings on war, hating the soldier is treason in my book. They put it on the line every day for us to sit here in relative peace and safety, the least we can do is thank them.

I spent 10.5 years active duty Air Force and I am currently in the Florida Air National Guard. I love this country and I love each of her citizens and I would gladly do what it takes to keep her free and my family safe.

Remember- If you can read thank a teacher, if you can read this in English, in a free country, in your new car, while driving to a job of your choosing, while listening to your favorite radio station and complaining about the government with no fear of death, THANK A SOLDIER!

3 Responses

  1. Nice story and I am shocked at the fact that his wife left him. What a kind of a superficial woman could she be?

    As for your statement:

    Remember- If you can read thank a teacher, if you can read this in English, in a free country, in your new car, while driving to a job of your choosing, while listening to your favorite radio station and complaining about the government with no fear of death, THANK A SOLDIER!

    Nope! I don’t buy that! Soldiers are out there to kill – period. We’ve seen what they were capable of doing in Iraq: Raping 14 year old girls and then killing the families to erase traces of their crimes. America is NOT free because of its soldiers. Heck, we’ve never had a war here since the Civil War. We’ve taken our wars to the “enemies” countries, destroying them and sending them to the stone age. We are free because we believe in democracy and justice for all. Isn’t that the reason “we” escaped England?

    Besides, your statement above contradicts your Purpose:

    The purpose of this blog is to express my desire to live a life that reflects the Love of God like a mirror, and to help others do the same.

    Do you mean then that you hold a gun in one hand and the bible the other? How is that different from the Bin-Laden-like terrorists who use religion to justify – like you – their ways?

    ATW

  2. Hello,
    Thanks for the comment ATW. I am not going to reply right away, I would like to take a day or two to digest what you wrote and pray about it. Thank you for bringing those things to my attention, I had never noticed the incongruities before.
    Thanks,
    Shawn

  3. […] Comments Shawn Holmes on Stolen Blogkc on Stolen BlogShawn Holmes on Soldier Onattendingtheworld on Soldier OnJessica Alba Blog … on […]

Leave a comment