Oh, be careful little mouth, what you say


boy-with-toys.jpgYou know kids are little voice recorders, they remember everything. They especially remember the things that we don’t want them to remember. Last night I was tucking my son (4 yrs old yesterday) into his bed. We said our prayers and then I sang Jingle Bells, yes I know it is not Christmas. I sing Frosty for my 2 yr old daughter EACH night and my son comes up with a different choice each night (all Christmas songs). Anyway, back to the story. So I sang Jingle Bells and then I thought, hey this would be a great time for what I call a “Dad Moment”. This is what I call the times when I get to come up with some wise saying or I get that mind out of body feeling when I am saying or doing something my parents used to say or do.

My son is going to meet his preschool teacher tomorrow and then will start preschool the following day. I wanted him to know how proud and excited I was that he was starting school and how I knew everyone would like him because he was so smart and handsome just like his dad. As I was imparting all this love and parental pride a scared look came over his face. I asked him, “Son, what’s wrong?” To which he replied, “But dad, no one will like me, my hair is all jacked up!” Now again, this is a brand new 4 yr old whose hair is all jacked up!

Here’s the background story- A couple weeks earlier I had briefly mentioned he needed a hair cut because his hair was, well, all jacked up. Aha, that is where he got it. Yes, it was me, the Co-pastor, the great dad. Now, there is nothing wrong with the phrase all jacked up unless it refers to Jack Daniels and you’re behind the wheel of a car, however, it is not necessarily a phrase you want your 4 yr old to say on his first day of preschool especially when it is a Christian preschool and you know the principal and some of the staff.

I am reminded of the children’s song-

Oh, be careful little mouth, what you say, (repeat),
For the Father up above,
Is looking down in love,
So be careful little
mouth what you say.

The smallest phrase or action can stay with a child long after we have forgotten about it. In Ephesians, God, through a man named Paul explains that we should “Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift.” Ephesians 4:29.

Remember- Kids may “Say the Darndest Things” but they also REMEMBER the darndest things!

Leave a Reply

