A Great Lady!


    Yesterday my Mom received a call from her sister Nancy, Mom’s other sister, Glenda (a.k.a.  Sis) is not doing to well.  Most likely she will not last more than a few more days before she enters eternity.  There is a chance she will pull through but it is slim.

Today, I would like to introduce you to my Aunt Sis.  For the fist five years of my life I saw Aunt Sis almost as much as my Mom.  Unfortunately we moved out of town around this time but the bond we had continued on.  We went to see her and she came to see us.  As I grew and matured she was a central part of my life.  I remember once when I was pretty young we went shopping.  She gave me a set limit of how much I could spend, I spent it all in the first store.  When we went into the second store I wanted something else.  She said no, and wouldn’t budge.  I begged, I pleaded, I cried, I threw a tantrum, nada.  She then taught me a valuable lesson, she said, “You made your bed, now lie in it.”  I learned to think before I made decisions.  Of coarse, I had to learn that lesson several more times growing up but that is beside the point.

My Aunt was a great lady, she never won a Nobel Peace Prize or even a best dressed award, but what she did earn was the love and respect of those around her.  My Aunt Sis is going to pass, probably soon, and I will miss her terribly but I know I will see her again and I know she will be in a better place than we are.

He will wipe all tears from their eyes, and there will be no more death, suffering, crying, or pain. These things of the past are gone forever.  Revelation 21:4 CEV

Remember-  People pass in and out of our lives, but the memories we hold keep them with us forever!

One Response

  1. My Brother, please give our love to the family, and express to your Aunt, if you get the chance that my thoughts and prayers are with her. I never had the chance of knowing her as well as you did, but what I did discover in the short time was a lady who had a huge heart and that great country wisdom. She kept it simple, but it was so real and truthful. She would open her door to a stranger, and in my case it made me feel that she was my aunt.

Leave a Reply

