A Painfull Choice


coyote-061.jpg I have a choice to make. It involves choosing between two of my passions in life, God and football.

Background Story- For those that don’t know, I am a Christ-Follower and my Dad and I, tired of churches that don’t do anything, set out to start a church for people who don’t go to church. One without pretense or pomp. Where people can come and be themselves. We started out fairly well but now we are down to 4 or 5 people. So Dad and I have been praying and wracking our brains to find out what we are doing wrong. This is our calling from God but for some reason it isn’t working.

The Doubt- So Dad and I have been trying to figure out what went wrong and what we need to do to fix it. Is it us, did we fail, did we misunderstand God, did God fail? I know, I know, “God never fails!” Let me say this, the person who says that in a pious, holier than thou voice has probably never stepped out on faith with something that was more than they could handle. Those that have taken a leap for God know that there is a point in your arc as you are flying out into the great unknown that you wonder, will God really catch me. So thats where we are, asking, “Is God going to catch me?” Cause right now I feel like Wile E. Coyote as he is falling off the cliff. The ground seems to be getting closer and closer and we seem to be falling faster and faster.

The Choice- So we have been praying and Dad and I have come to the conclusion we need to fast and pray. Why fast and pray? It’s what Jesus did, and if it was good enough for him, it is good enough for us.  But fasting doesn’t always have to be about food.  Anything that is important to you can be given up as a fast.  For me, I think God is asking me to give up the Super Bowl this Sunday!!

…….to be continued!

3 Responses

  1. Don’t get me wrong,read Qur’an.
    If you can’t find one on English please let me know.
    (kobyx_x@yahoo.com)
    And,when you read it I would like your comment.
    I came here accidentally and I won’t come again,probably.

  2. Having been a believer for over 40 years, I can tell you that anything that God calls you to do is worth doing and is often fraught with problems and challenges. The enemy does not want you to succeed, but hang in there if it is God’s plan, he will bless it. Fasting and praying for answers is never futile. Blessings

  3. Thanks for the encouragement.
    God Bless,
    Shawn

Leave a Reply

