Get the Windex God


Windex Hello all, I apologize for not writing part 2 of “A Painful Choice” yesterday. Hopefully I will be able to finish it tomorrow. I would like to take a slight detour. Yesterday I was awakened by my wife at 4 am. She was having intense pain in her left side and it was getting worse. Long story short, I called my Mom to come watch the kids and we were off to the Emergency Room.

Our ER visit was lovely. We really do have a great ER, small and usually crowd free. We were being seen by the doctor within 10 minutes of arriving. I have no gripes or complaints about the nurses or docs. Actually, my thanks go to them, they were very pleasant and warm. Amy has a kidney stone by the way. Her Mom has offered to make it into a necklace for her, she makes jewelry- Sassie Brat Jewelry she is also a little left of the normal line!! Love ya Mom!
Here is where my problem lies, my job. I am a pastor but that is part-time. My full-time job is with Marion County. I am an electrician. Now, I have called in sick a lot, I have 3 children and a wife that has a lot of medical problems. I am also in the Florida Air National Guard so that takes me away some as well. However, I have never missed a day of work and not called in, I have always had either sick leave or vacation time to take and yet they are talking about letting me go for missing to much time.

I am not mad at them, I understand their point of view, they need a guy that is there all the time. I want to be, I love my job. But sometimes life gets in the way. We have one car, so when the little ones or the wife get sick, I have to come home to go to the doctor. If my wife is sick someone has to stay home with the kids. As an aside, I am blessed because we live next to my Mom and Dad and at this time my sister and her family are crashing with my folks, so I do have help. But they have lives and work as well. So, I miss a lot of work.

Well, I spent all day yesterday worried about having a job today when I go back. But here’s the thing, does spending all my time worrying about it help? Nope! Does worrying about anything help? Nope, Nope! All it does is make me irritable and short. So, I quit. I don’t want to worry about it anymore. Of coarse, it is never that easy, but it is a start. I am reminded of what the Bible says about worry, “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life-whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?” Matthew 6:25-27

Did you catch that last part? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? How great a release is that? That my friends, is some good old, home grown, down-to-earth wisdom. Can all that fussin’ and fumin’ get you you one more turn on the merry-go-round of life? So why spend so much of our time focusing on it? Because we are focused on US not on God. The purpose of this blog is to help people realize that it is NOT all about us but it is all about HIM. God, the Creator, the One who sits in Heaven and shapes our lives. We are merely mirrors, reflecting what is on the inside. Sometimes our mirrors get a little dirty, someone sneezes some worry on us, or we brush our teeth and the spittle of doubt gets all over our mirror. Maybe the dust of anger settles on our mirror and makes it hard to see. Or how about the hairspray film from lies and gossip? Sometimes we need the Windex of forgiveness and the paper towel of God’s grace to clean our mirror so that we can reflect God again.

This morning I spent time with God allowing Him to clean my mirror. Allowing Him to deal with my fears and my worries. Am I still worried? You bet, it creeps up from time to time. But now when it comes up, I ask God to grab the Windex and go to town.

Remember- Only God can clean the mirror that is you, but just like any cleaning service, He ain’t coming until you make an appointment. Spend some time with God today, get your mirror cleaned.

Leave a Reply

