Here’s What Happened


football There are two blogs that precede this one, Blog 1 and Blog 2. They will get you up to speed. I will wait while you read them……… ………. ……….! OK, you’re back, good.

Well, the verdict is in. I made it. No football of any kind since last Tuesday. Actually, no sports of any kind, but football was the hardest to abstain from. Especially the Super Bowl. I didn’t know what happened until this morning. Looks like it was a great game. I didn’t watch it. I didn’t listen to it. I didn’t even “accidentally” channel surf through it to catch the score.

Understand that I am not boasting. Two things prevented me from cheating, I promised God and I told all of you. I didn’t want to face God if I cheated and I placed myself into accountability to all of you to help keep me honest. Accountability is like a short chain link fence or a padlock, it just keeps an honest man honest. Thanks to all of you who prayed for me and helped me stay true.

Ok, I know some of you want to know what happened with my fast of the Super Bowl. First I went on a drive around the area that we are trying to show the Love of God to. I prayed for the people of that area to begin to sense a need for God in their lives. I prayed for them to desire to go to church, not necessarily our church, but any church the honors God. Then I went to where we have our church services and prayed for our church specifically. I prayed that God would build our church so that we can have an impact on peoples lives. I also prayed for a different place to meet, this one is very small and has no where for the children to go. That is a problem, we can’t keep families if we have no where for their children to go.

I also spent a little time reading my Bible. I would like to share a couple of the passages that God gave to me.

“The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you.” Psalms 32:8 NLT This says to me we are on the right path and that God will keep us straight.

“For the word of the Lord holds true, and we can trust everything he does.” Psalms 33:4 NLT God gave us the vision for this church and we can trust Him to accomplish it.

“But the Lord’s plans stand firm forever; his intentions can never be shaken.” Psalms 33:11 NLT No matter what, God is in control.

“The Lord hears his people when they call to him for help.
He rescues them from all their troubles.
The Lord is close to the brokenhearted;
he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.”
Psalms 34:17-18 NLT When we are down and confused and brokenhearted, God is close to us and He hears our prayers for help.

I showed up for my meeting with God and the amazing thing was He showed up to. I hadn’t felt that close to God for a while.

After reading in the Bible for a while and when I had sensed God was done speaking to me I drove around the area for about an hour or so and just prayed for the people in that area. Then I drove to Romeo Elementary school and asked God if that is where He wants us to have church services. I then drove to this white building with these cool huge whit pillars in front on the corner of HWY 40 & 41. I think it would be the perfect place for a church. The problem is the man that owns it wants $1.8 million for it. Well, I checked the change in my recliner but could only come up with $.32 cents. So that is a God-sized amount. It is the perfect location, highly visible and it looks like it would make a cool church. So I prayed if that is where we are supposed to go then a God-sized miracle would have to happen. (We talked of renting it but he won’t rent to churches.)

So thus ends my fast of sports during the best week of sports of the year, the Super Bowl. As I prayed this morning I asked myself, would I do it again next year? Would I skip the Super Bowl and spend time with God. My answer is a definite YES! All the way. God showed up and reaffirmed my calling and reignited my heart for the Lake Tropicana area. It was well worth it.

God Bless,

Shawn H

Leave a Reply

