Naked Issues


Fitness I saw a commercial last night for the T.V. show, “How To Look Good Naked“. A guy tries to get women to like their bodies just the way they are. The shows host is Carson Kressley of “Queer Eye For the Straight Guy” fame, who in my opinion, is a very funny guy. Please don’t bombard me with hate mail. I am not for homosexuality, I believe it is against Gods Word, but so is eating to much and being overweight, however we as Christians seem to be able to overlook the sins we like and focus on the ones we don’t. Besides, I seem to remember a woman thrown at Jesus’ feet caught in the act of adultery, Jesus never said one unkind word to her, actually, the ones He scolded were the “religious” people that brought her to Him. I would rather hang out with 10 gay guys than one unloving religious person. Jesus loved everyone with out condoning their sin. Until we can come to the place where we overlook the sin to love the person we will never reach the people of this world. Sorry, that was what you call chasing a rabbit.

Anyway, being straight or gay is not the reason for this blog. Self image is. The stats for the above mentioned show say that something like 23% of women like their bodies. That could be a little off. I would have to say that most people don’t like the way they look. Personally, I wish I had a six-pack instead of the keg I presently sport, that my chest was bigger and my body less hairy. However, this is not just a fat thing or an ugly thing. Everyone has issues. My wife is very thin, and no matter what she does she can’t gain weight, eat a lot- no gain, have three kids- no gain. She looks just like she did when I married her. Don’t get me wrong, to me, my wife is the most beautiful woman in the world.

Only Jessica Alba comes close.Jessica as my wife sees her!!

Don’t get excited, she has Ty Pennington  to drool over!!Ty- The Devil with a toolbelt!

But I hear my wife say all the time, I am not happy with this body part or that body part.

What most of us don’t realize is that when we look in the mirror and see ourselves we are using the wrong perspective. We are looking at the us that the world sees. We are not looking at the us God sees. In 1 Samuel 16:7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” God specifically says that He looks past our physical bodies and peers into our hearts. He is not impressed with how we look, but who we are. In fact God loved us so much He sent His Son, Jesus, to die for us. When we focus on our outside we dismiss the fact that God thinks our inside is vastly more important. How shallow our we when our mortal body is more important than our immortal souls.

Remember- God loves us inside out, not outside in.

2 Responses

  1. […] jessicaalbagallery wrote a supreme post today on “Naked Issues.” Here’s a quick excerpt: […]

  2. […] holmessh wrote an interesting post today on Naked IssuesHere’s a quick excerptDon’t get me wrong, to me, my wife is the most beautiful woman in the world. Only Jessica Alba comes close. Jessica as my wife sees her!! Don’t get excited, she has Ty Pennington to drool over!! Ty- The Devil with a toolbelt! … […]

Leave a Reply

