Whammies From God


punched   There are times in my life when someone will say something or I will read a sentence and it fells like God just whacks me in the side of the head. That happened the other day. I was reading something, I can’t remember what it was but, there was this short sentence in there that keeps coming back to me all the time. I can’t get it out of my head, which stinks because there is only so much room up there. Until I brain-dump the last episode of House the storage space is limited.

So here is the sentence. “You only truly believe what you do.” WHOA!!!!

Seriously, those 7 words blew me away, and still do. I hear people all the time, myself included, say “I believe the Bible 100%.”, or, “The Bible is the inspired Word of God and is completely true.” Let me say first off, I completely agree, I believe the Bible is 100% accurate, no mistakes, no contradictions. But at the same time, do I really?

I mean, I know the Bible says to love my enemies, to not repay evil with evil, but to repay it evil with good. I know the Bible says to love God first and foremost, above all else. I know the Bible says that the people who don’t have a personal relationship with Jesus will go to hell. I know these things but I obviously don’t believe them, if I did my life would be spent loving my enemies, repaying evil with good and telling everyone I met that Jesus loves them and wants to give them life eternal in heaven. But a lot of times I don’t do any of those things.

So whats the deal? Why do I believe these things to be true but I don’t act on them? For me it comes down to choices. I either choose to do what’s right or choose to do wrong. And no choice is a choice to do wrong. Nobody sits on the bench in the game of life. When I make my choice, is it based off of what I see or is it based off what God can do through me.

“But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.” James 1:22

Remember- You only believe what you do, God wants you to DO what you believe.

Leave a Reply

