I Got Mooned Last Night


The Moon     Last night I walked outside for a moment to get something from the van (yes, I have a minivan) and as I looked up the moon was BRIGHT!  I mean it was brighter than I ever remember it.  I was caught off guard by how much intensity it had, like it was on a mission to ensure that I got to my van and back without tripping over something.  I mentioned to my wife how cool it was that the moon reflects the light from the sun on the opposite side of the planet.  Now I don’t claim to be a smart person when it comes to science but I know the moon has no light in and of itself, it simply reflects.  Sometimes we don’t see it depending on the phase and or cloud cover, but it reflects.

The title of this blog is Reflections of a Mirror, we have no light in us in and of ourselves either, we simply reflect the light of Jesus.  Jesus spoke to the people once more and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.” John 8:12 (New Living Translation)  If He is the light source, then we are the reflection of that light.

Sometimes though, things get in the way of the moon, like clouds.  There was an eclipse the night before apparently, I didn’t know about it, I heard it on the radio, but because of the clouds you couldn’t see the eclipse.  A lot of times we have our own clouds don’t we.  One kind of cloud is sin.  Sin hides our light from the world.  We like to keep our sin in the dark where no one can see.  If we are in the dark, how can we reflect the light?  Some sin clouds, jealousy, hate, lust, fear, greed, the list goes on and on.

Maybe it is not sin but life that gets in the way.  How many hours a day do you work?  Do you spend time with friends and family?  Is life getting in the way of living?  Some clouds come from others, someone hurt you or ignored you.  Your spouse laid in to you verbally and now you feel bad about yourself.  Your friend stabbed you in the back and asked your girl out.  Maybe it is just junk in your trunk that has dimmed your light, the car broke down, the coffee spilled on your work clothes on the way to work, your computer took a memory dump.

There are thousands upon thousands of ways to let your light get dim.  But there is only one way to get it bright again, Jesus.  Take it to The Man.  Ask him to brighten up your light.  Change those weak factory headlights the new xenon bulbs.  Take out the 60 watt GE and put in the 500 watt quartz light.

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand-shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.”  Matthew 5:14-16 (The Message)

Remember- Shine like there is no tomorrow, because there just might not be one.

Leave a Reply

