Support the Troops?? Part 3


Me    This post is the final post in response to ATW’s comments on an earlier post of mine.

You can read it HERE as well as his comments.

You can read the first posted response HERE.

And the second posted response HERE.

3.   Do you mean then that you hold a gun in one hand and the bible the other? How is that different from the Bin-Laden-like terrorists who use religion to justify – like you – their ways?

I must admit, this is the one that really gave me pause.  How do I justify holding a gun and a Bible at the same time?  Here is what I do know, David, in the Old Testament, was considered a man after God’s own heart.  However he was also a mighty warrior.   In the New Testament Jesus never once spoke evil of soldiers, He even healed the servant of a soldier who had faith in Him.  Matthew 8:5-13.  There are many other references in the Bible that speak of war and fighting.  See the previously mentioned article on Christians in the Military.

I think that everyone must decide for themselves.  We are told in the Ten Commandments not to murder but God not only allowed but also commanded wars to be fought so there must be a distinction between murder and killing in battle.  Our own government recognizes the difference as well.

My opinion,  and that is what it is, an opinion, is this.  I have no problem with Christians being in the military.  It is the same for any job or circumstance of life, if you are asked to do something that you feel would be in violation of God’s law then you should refuse and accept the consequences.  Had I been asked or commanded to kill innocent civilians I would have refused.  I see great honor in serving in God’s army as well as in the armed forces of the U.S.A.

However, I realize that not all people will agree with me, and while I have no issue with that, I still believe we should support our troops and pray for them.  Jesus supported the enemies soldier when He healed his servant.  Soldiers are real people, they have Dad’s, Mom’s, siblings, souses and children.  And just like any other person they are in need of our love, the same love that Jesus demonstrated when He died on the cross for us.

Am I the same as bin Laden?  No, I have a conscience, I have morals, I would never knowingly harm innocent people.  And that is the difference.  The difference between murder and killing.  The difference between war and terrorism.  I may not always agree with who we fight, and if it came to it I would refuse if ordered to fight an unjust war, but I do believe in fighting for what matters, my family and my country.

Remember- Right or wrong, just or unjust, good or evil, our soldiers need your prayers and your unconditional love.

P.S.  Twins separated at birth or two completely opposite people?  You decide!

bin Laden          Me

6 Responses

  1. Our prayers are with you, you mighty men of valor.

  2. Thank you and God Bless. I visited your site, it is amazing. May God richly bless you. Anyone reading this needs to check out his site, http://mathewpaul.org/

  3. Thank you Shawn for the comment.

    Indeed prayer moves the hands which move the Univeerse. Praise Be To His Holy Name. Amen.

  4. As I reflected more about your role in the armed forces, I must tell you that your role is so crucial for the overall ongoing of the freedom of the entire world. If not for the US armed forces I suspect that Bin & Sad. together would have eaten up the entire world by now. Just imagine that!

    More than the sophisticated weaponry of your forces, I think what makes the US forces great is men like you who handle them with prayer. I think you have quite a few there, isn’t it? “The horse is made ready for the battle, but the victory belongs to the Lord” (Prov.21:31).

    So whatever other Bible believers say is immaterial. Carry on in faith and with prayer as your role is very crucial for the forces and thus for the entire world. We want to live in a free world till the Lord returns, don’t we?

    Gd bless. Our ardent prayers are with you.

    Bye.

  5. I am very proud of you, and my son, and all the other men and women who serve. Nightly I say prayers for all of them, and their families. Keep up the good work and getting the word out, you are making a difference even if you don’t realize it!

  6. Thanks to all who left a comment, I was beginning to wonder if anyone was reading this blog. Empy and Sheri, if possible I would ask that you pray for the church that my Dad and I are starting, we are struggling to get people to come. We are planning an Easter Egg Hunt for the children in the area with a bike give away at church the next day and we are also planning a community give away in the near future. There is a local agency that will bring a u-haul size truck full of stuff to give away, it is good stuff to, all new and un-opened. We did one in town and there was a lot of great stuff. The name of the church is Church @ The Place, check out the web site- http://www.jointheplace.com We need prayer support, the area we are in is very closed and guarded and the going is slow. Pray that we will be able to meet them where they are and meet their needs to show the love of Jesus to them.
    Thanks,
    Shawn

Leave a Reply

