Paging Dr. House


My wife and I feel like we are in an episode of House M.D. If you have never seen the show it is one of the guilty pleasures out there.  My wife and I love it.  It has replaced C.S.I. as #1 in our home.  This doctor named House, played by Hugh Laurie, is an arrogant, slightly sadistic doctor who figures out the unexplainable.  If you took a man and removed all the social restriction that most people go through life with and then made him a genius you would have House.

Anyway, my wife is sick.  We don’t know what it is, nor do the doctors.  She saw a neurologist yesterday and she said he was very abrupt.  I asked her if she liked living and episode of House.  She laughed and said, “yeah, as long as he is as smart as House.”  I don’t know if her doctor is or not.  Needless to say we are all worried about Amy.  She has an MRI with contrast today so hopefully we will know more soon.

A lot of times in life things will happen and you will go to someone for comfort or advice and they will give you a canned response.  Do you know what I mean?  “Don’t worry, it is all in God’s hands.” or, “It’s darkest before the storm.” or “Jesus is walking with you.”  I am not saying that they aren’t true, it is just as a Christian I have heard them hundreds of times and said them myself hundreds of times.  So sometimes little bumper sticker sayings aren’t enough.  However, God doesn’t use bumper sticker sayings to comfort us, we have made them into bumper stickers.  He does tell us He is always with us and that He is in control and that we can place our burdens on Him because He cares for us.

“God, I give this all to you.  My wife Amy and whatever is going on in her body, I give it to you and I ask you to heal her, either by miracle or through the doctors.  God, give me strength to be a support for my wife.  Help me to be strong for her.  Take away my worry and replace it with trust.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

5 Responses

  1. Shawn,
    I agree with you in prayer in Jesus’ precious name.
    I believe that your wife will be ok.

  2. Thanks Grace, that means a lot. She actually ended up having 2 MRI’s. One with out contrast and one with contrast. We should know something in a week and a half or so.
    shawn

  3. Hey, I’ll be praying!!! Any new news on how she’s doing?

  4. Hey,
    We won’t have any results until we get back from vacation. That will be a week from this Wednesday. I will update everyone as soon as I can. Thanks for your prayers.
    shawn

  5. I hope you’re vacation was great. Your wife is still in my prayers.

    Blessings,
    EG

Leave a Reply

