Taking a Stand


    

take a stand

take a stand

Sometimes as a Christ-Follower (aka, a christian), you have an aha! moment.  I googled “aha moment” and got 515,000 hits.  On the first page were Celine Dion’s “aha moment” as well as a bunch of sites that define and scientifically prove they exist.  I just wanted to make sure I was spelling “aha” right.  

 

     Anyway, I had an “aha moment” yesterday.  I am teaching the Book of James on our Saturday night Bible Study for our church.  We will be looking at James 4 this coming Saturday so I have been reading James 4 in my Bible each morning for my quiet time with God.  I read it Tuesday and raced through it.  But Wednesday I read it slowly and let it roll around in my head, (which is like a marble rolling around in a 5 gallon bucket) when to my surprise I got my “aha moment”.  

     James 4:17-“If you don’t do what you know is right, you have sinned.”  What?  Are you serious?  Sin isn’t just doing things that are bad but sin is also neglecting to do the right thing.  You mean, if I don’t stand up for what is right it is a sin?  So if I see someone hurting someone else I HAVE to step in?  A news story that turned my stomach was aired on a local station a month or so ago about a man in Turlock, Califonia that kicked and stomped his baby to death.  Read the story HERE!  Now as grisly and as horrible as this story is there is one part in here that turns my stomach more than the actual murder.  Read this paragraph taken from the same article, maybe you didn’t notice it.

 

When Robinson went into the pickup to turn on the hazard lights, Aguiar stopped kicking the boy, helped him find the flashers, then went back to his attack, McKain said. She said there was blood in the truck’s cab.

McKain said her son, her son’s wife and her son’s friend were also there, as were a woman and a man who pulled up in separate cars. She estimated that she saw Aguiar kick or stomp his son at least 100 times, but she said no one tried to stop him because he appeared to be dangerous. One fear was that “maybe he had something in his pocket,” she said.

Also, McKain said, it was clear that “the baby was gone.”

     OK, so lets think this through- Robinson was a bystander, he went to turn his hazards on WHILE THE BABY IS BEING KICKED AROUND, the man doing the kicking STOPS KICKING THE BABY AND GOES OVER TO HELP HIM FIND HIS HAZARD LIGHTS and then returns to kicking the baby.  Are you kidding me?  You can’t be serious.  This guy lets the baby killer help him with his lights?  OK, second paragraph, there are six adults here, three of which are men and none of them could figure out a way to stop this?  The last sentence says it all, “the baby was gone.”  Who cares, had they jumped in the second they got there maybe he wouldn’t have been “gone”?  

     Look folks, I am a compassionate man, I understand there are bad people out there and that helping people can get you hurt but as Edmund Burke aptly said “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.”  Or, as James said, “If you don’t do what you know is right, you have sinned.”

     To borrow a word from Stephen Colbert, “Nation”, we need to wake up and take a stand for what is right, to do any less is a sin and a travesty.

3 Responses

  1. Oh, for tragic! I hadn’t heard about that story. Devestating! Yet your point is so true. . .

  2. I had heard about the story and still don’t understand how they could just stand there and do nothing. I don’t think I could have… especially when he left to turn on the lights…. I would have grabbed that baby… and ran. There is just much apathy, and “it don’t concern me I’m not getting involved” attitude in this world. And the said part is, the very people that stood there and did nothing would probably be the first to complain that no one helped them if they were in trouble.

  3. No doubt Sheri.

Leave a Reply

