Get Serious!


      As you know from yesterday I am doing a study on James.  Great book, my favorite actually.  This week is chapter 4.  Read it HERE.  This morning I was reading James 4 again and a passage jumped out at me.

     Maybe you are like me, a Yo-Yo Christian.  One week you are serious about your relationship with God and the next week you don’t even pick up your Bible at all.  Or maybe it lasts a month or three but then the closeness seems to widen and before you know it you can’t see God in your life let alone hear Him.  I do that.

 You’re cheating on God. If all you want is your own way, flirting with the world every chance you get, you end up enemies of God and his way. And do you suppose God doesn’t care? The proverb has it that “he’s a fiercely jealous lover.” And what he gives in love is far better than anything else you’ll find. It’s common knowledge that “God goes against the willful proud; God gives grace to the willing humble.”  James 4:4-6

     “flirting with the world every chance you get.”  I never thought of it that way before.  I am a married man now, but in my single days I was a big flirt.  I would flirt with any and every woman.  Like a bumblebee flitting and flying to any flower I could find.  But then my wife got her hooks into me, I mean captured my heart, and I fell in love.  But even though I love my wife I still flirt from time to time.  Sometimes I don’t even realize I am doing it.  It is just second nature.  Don’t worry, my wife still bats her eyelashes at guys from time to time to get something.   In my spiritual life I flirt as well.  For example, when I look for pictures for this blog I do a google image search, it never fails though that a half naked woman shows up as one of the pics.  While I may not go to the large picture my eyes tend to stay on the small image for just a second or two longer than I need to, I’m flirting.  Ladies, how about you.  You may not flirt with lust but I bet most of you flirt with envy.  You see a “supermodel” and compare yourself to her and suddenly you have this deep anger towards either yourself or God because you don’t like like a “goddess”.  Never realizing that you would look perfect as well if you had your own personal Photoshop department digitally enhancing you.  

      In the verses above, toward the end, it says, “And what he gives in love is far better than anything else you’ll find.”  WOW!  Just like my love for my wife is far better than what I would find flirting with others God is saying the love I have for you is so much better than what you will find in the world.  It is complete, deep and satisfying.  

     It is time to get serious, time to quit playing around.  There is a song I like by Jonah33.  

This Is It (You Instead of Me), check out the lyrics.

Because I’m playing for keeps this time around
I’m in too deep
To think about falling down
And giving up again
I want to live each day just like
It was my last chance to prove
You’re all I have
And that is all I need

This is it, it’s what we’re waiting for!
This is it, it’s all we’re fighting for!
I finally get a chance to show the world
What You have done for me
So let this moment be
You instead of me

Tired and bruised, every broken bone
Reminds me that I’m far from home
And these scars remind me who I am
But You’re the one
the Reason that I run
And I won’t stop until You’re done
You’re the only hope I have

I’ve counted the cost and I know
Everything that really matters is
Everything worth fighting for

     

Tomorrow we will look at how to stop flirting and get serious.

Leave a Reply

