Let’s Get Naked!!


     Adam and EveEasy folks, don’t get too excited.  I am not talking nudist colony naked but emotionally and spiritually naked.  Anyone remember a couple named Adam and Eve?  Adam was the first man whom God created.  But God had created Adam to love God and to love people.  Well the loving God thing was going well but there were no people to love so Adam was lonely.  God then decided to create Eve.  So Adam went from having a perfect relationship with God to having a perfect relationship with God and Eve.  The Bible describes the relationship Adam and Eve had with each other as simple innocence and complete openness when it says, “Although the man and his wife were both naked, they were not ashamed.”  Genesis 2:25.  

     Unfortunately things don’t stay so rosy.  As we all know Eve lets the snake convince her to eat the fruit that God told them not to, then she in turn gets dumb old Adam to eat as well.  The sin of disobedience enters 

 humanity and the rest is history.  Most people focus on the fact that this is when fellowship with God and man is first broken, and for good reason.  But we sometimes fail to look at the second result of disobedience, this is the also the first time that Adam and Eve’s fellowship is broken.  All of a sudden they were ashamed of their nakedness with each other and made fashions first Spring Line.  

     God wants us to be naked and NOT ashamed before others.  Not physically, but emotionally and spiritually.  Most of the time though, I tend to throw so many layers of clothes over me I look like the abominable snowman.  Why do we do this?  Well, quite simply, it is because we are all a like Adam and Eve, our lives, our relationships get messed up by sin, shame and guilt and we run from each other and hide.  

     Ask my wife what her number one complaint about me is and I can bet she will say, I don’t open up to her like she wants.  This is true for a lot of us.  I find it very difficult to truly open myself up to anyone.  There have only been two or three people in my life I have done that with.  Why?  Mostly I learned it form my Dad.  He was a very closed off guy.  Never talked a lot growing up.  Don’t get me wrong, he never abused me or anything, mostly he just ignored us kids.  Please understand, I love my Dad and I have a great relationship with him now, we are starting a church together.  But when we were young (him included) I just think he didn’t have a clue what to do with us, he just left it to Mom.  So I learned at a young age that men don’t need to socialize and talk about their feelings.  But I try, and my wife appreciates it and is patient with me.  I am just emotionally constipated.  

     In James 5:16 the Bible says this;

Make this your common practice: Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you can live together whole and healed. The prayer of a person living right with God is something powerful to be reckoned with. 

And Galations 6:1-3;

Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.

     If we can get to the point where we are willing to share our sins and our burdens with each other life will be much easier and spiritual growth will explode.

Leave a Reply

