Separation Stinks


Right now I am a little over 300 miles from my family.  I am in a motel room on an Air Force Base just outside Panamaseparation-stinks1 City, Fl.  I am separated from my Wife and three children.  I get to see them every other weekend and let me tell you, it stinks.  I love my family.  I love my wife and I love my three rugrats.

My wife keeps excitement in my life.  She is the crazy one, I am the boring one.  She wants to go out and she brings up crazy off the wall subjects.  She wants to go shopping and to the beach and to the park, and, and, and……  I would sit on the couch and watch SportsCenter all day.  I like to relax, she can’t relax.  I fall asleep the instant my head hits the pillow and she is awake for four more hours reading or watching T.V. because she can’t turn her brain off.

My kids also keep excitement in my life.  They run, they jump, they scream, they break stuff.  But no matter what, between the three of them there is always something happening, good or not so good!

Right now I get Snippets of Chaos.  Slices of Craziness.  Chunks of  Insanity.  And all of it is on the phone.  Cell phones are great, but at the same time they are so impersonal.  I can hear the chaos but I can’t see it.  I get the gist of the craziness but I can’t feel it.  I realize the insanity but I can’t know it.  Why, because I am not with them.

expanse1A lot of times my relationship with God is like that.  It’s like I am talking to Him on a cell phone.  I know He loves me but I can’t feel it.  I know He is interested in my life but I can’t see it.  I know He wants to console me but I don’t know it.  But, and it’s a big but, that is not the way it is supposed to be.

Psalm 46:10a says- Let be and be still, and know (recognize and understand) that I am God. (Amplified Bible)

The New American Standard Bible says it this way- Cease striving and know that I am God

God tells us the best way to know Him is to quit trying so hard.  Make an effort sure, but don’t get so stressed out that you focus on all the reasons you can’t know Him better.

Most of the time the reason we don’t know God better is simply time.

2 Responses

  1. Hi there,
    Amazing! Not clear for me, how offen you updating your reflectionsofamirror.wordpress.com.
    Thank you

  2. @Bodyc- I took a long break but I am trying to update it 5 times a week. Thanks for stopping by, hope to hear from you again.
    Thanks,
    S

Leave a Reply

