Distractions


I think one of the most destructive forces that the Church faces today is also one of the smallest and hardest to detect.distracted It is called DISTRACTION.  Raise your hand if you have ever been distracted.  OK, now, raise your hand if you were distracted by something before you finished reading this paragraph.  I bet some of you had to raise your hands didn’t you.  Distractions are so common that we rarely notice them.  Unless we are seriously into something, a deadline, trying to solve a problem or a serious T.V. show we tend to accept them and keep going.  The problem is that a lot of times the distraction becomes our focus and we get sidetracked.

I don’t know about you but I have a one-track mind.  I am a typical guy, but even then I get sidetracked.  My wife on the other-hand is a multi-tasker, she can be watching T.V., cross-stitching, texting on the phone and eating all at the same time.  It baffles me.

Distractions can be dangerous.  Take a marathon runner for example, if he or she is not giving 100% concentration one wrong step and crack, bye bye ankle.  Or an electrician (which is what I am), when I am in an electrical panel and the power is turned on I promise I am giving 100% of my concentration to that panel.  (note-I do not endorse working on live electrical equipment but in the military it is sometimes necessary to ensure the mission continues)  Police Officers, Truck Drivers, Firemen and a myriad of other professions battle distractions every second of every day while they are on the job and any distraction could cost a life.

Distractions are also dangerous in our spirtual lives.  Maybe I am all alone on this but if I get sidetracked from my quiet time with God a few days in a row then those days become weeks before I realize I haven’t spoken with God in a while.  That is dangerous.  Like a ship without a compass I am running full tilt and I have no idea where I am going.  Without God’s continual direction I am just cruising through the water with no sense of purpose.  I think we all want a sense of purpose.  I mean there are several hundred books and thousands of seminars given across the world on finding your purpose, writing your purpose statement or achieving purpose in your life.  Distractions kill your pupose.  Listen to what Paul says about staying on track;

I run toward the goal, so that I can win the prize of being called to heaven. This is the prize that God offers because of what Christ Jesus has done.  Philippians 3:14 (Contemporary English Version)

Paul is focused.  He has his priorities set and he is moving forward with a purpose.  No distractions, no side tracks; just dogged determination.

Why don’t we have that?  Where is our dogged determination.  We are so easily swayed- T.V., X-Box, NBA finals, Ben & Jerry’s, The Mall, Make More Money, Clean the Car, all these to-do’s on our list and most of them won’t matter in a week.

My wife makes to-do lists for me.  Why?  So I stay on track.  Right now I am only home every other weekend.  I have limited time with her and the kids and to get things fixed around the house, so she plans and schedules everything.  If I get a call from someone asking if I want to get together when I am home I divert them straight to her.  Why?  Because she keeps me focused, she knows what needs to be done and I trust her and the list to keep me on track.  That way at the end of the weekend my to-do list is to-done.

Maybe we need a to-do list for our spiritual lives, a list that will keep us on track.  We need to stay focused on God and our relationship with Him.   To loose that focus is to loose the the only thing worth anything, God’s Purpose for our life.

What’s your To-Do List look like?  Is there room for God on it.  If not, maybe you should do some re-arranging until He becomes a priority in your life.

Leave a Reply

