The Letdown!


letdown-series-bulletin1Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary defines the word TRUST as an- assured reliance on the character, ability, strength, or truth of someone or something”.  I don’t know about you but I have trust issues.  It is hard for me to fully trust anyone or anything.  I trust very few people in this world, and even then I only fully trust about five of them.  I won’t name them but they know who they are.  It is hard to trust isn’t it?  I am pretty sure we have all felt the sting of betrayal, the pain of dishonesty and the slap of back stabbing.  People at work want our job, people at home have cheated and people at church, well, let’s just leave that one alone.  Our friends hurt us, our family hurts us and our co-workers hurt us.

Sometimes it even feels like God hurts us.  I have recently felt let down by God.  My Dad and I attempted something big for God and it ended up a failure, at least in our eyes.  Remember that definition from earlier- assured reliance on the character, ability, strength, or truth of someone or something”. We felt like we relied on God and His character and we felt let down.  While I don’t pretend to know the inner workings of God’s mind nor do I even understand His thought process I do know He is All-Knowing.  If He wasn’t He couldn’t be God.

Lately I have lost my job and I have had to move a few hundred miles from my family.  I am able to go home and see my wife and kids every other weekend.  I have put out numerous resumes and I haven’t received a single call or email in response to them.  I realize that in today’s climate I have it better than most, I have a job, my kids are well fed and clothed and we have a roof over our heads but I sure do miss them.  I miss seeing them every day and tucking them in every night.  I miss falling asleep on the love seat while my wife watches T.V.  I miss Momma’s home cooking (she lives next door) and I miss hanging out with my Brother-in-Law and talking football.  I miss spending time with my Dad and watching my nephews growing bigger.  I miss a lot.  I feel let down by God.  I took a leap of faith and landed on my butt.

But here is what I am learning, trust is hard.  Trust like love, is a decision not a feeling.  I have to decide to trust God.  Faith means believing in something before you see it.  Trust is relying on something or someone before something happens.  I trust my wife to be there for me if I am ever in an accident.  I trust the chair I am sitting in to not collapse.  I trust my van to get me where I am going.  I trust all the time, why then is it so hard to trust God.

The good news is that I am not the first nor am I the only one who has ever struggled with trust issues.  Two prominent figures in the Old Testament had issues with trust.  The first was Moses, yes Moses.  Whole studies have been done on the life of Moses; “Experiencing God” is probably the most well know.  It is a wonderful study and I encourage you to read it but before Moses became the leader of Israel and the tool God used to deliver His people from slavery Moses had trust issues.  Read through Exodus 3 & 4.  Moses doubts Gods call to save Israel.  Moses says, “Who am I?”  Then in chp.4 Moses again distrusts God when he asks, “What if the Israelites don’t believe me?”, and by using the excuse that he is not eloquent enough to be God’s voice to His people.

The second person is David.  God calls David “a man after My own heart” yet still he had trust issues.  In 2 Samuel 24 God tells David not to count his army.  But David, in a lack of trust, counted anyway.  God wanted David’s army to be the size of his faith, not his faith the size of his army.

In the New Testament the disciples are recorded as having several lapses in trust.  Here is one such occasion Mark 4:35-41.  Take a few seconds and read what happened.

So we are not alone.  We are not the first.  And we will not be the last.  We all have trust issues.  We all feel let down.  Thetrust_fall struggle, the battle, the mark of strength is to keep going.  To fight!  Don’t give up.  We need to decide to trust God, even when the world is falling apart, even when OUR world is falling apart, decide to trust Him.

Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track.  Proverbs 3:5-6 (The Message)

Trust is a decision, make the decision today!

One Response

  1. Shawn,

    I am praying that God will reveal His perfect will for you soon…and that that would include reuniting you with your family!

    I, too, struggle with trust issues. That’s one reason I blog: because I don’t want to tell people what I truly think. I don’t trust them with my heart. This was a wonderful reminder. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

