Be Careful Little Eyes What You See


This is a tough one.  Please, if you are reading this, read to the end.  Don’t assume you know what I am going to say.

This subject has been on my mind since and earlier post from a few days ago about the iphone app, “Babyshaker“, anlittle-eyes app that allowed you to shake the phone until the “virtual baby” died.  I didn’t like it, thought is was pretty much a horrible idea.  I still do.  But as I read on some websites there is so much out there that is like this that it is causing me concern.  First let me say that I am NOT one of those people that believe if you play a game with evil in it or listen to music with lyrics about killing, rape and other indecent topics that you will become a serial killing rapist hellbent on destroying the world.  I have listened to my share of what most Christians would call devil music.  I like AC/DC, I even like a little Disturbed now and then.  I have even found my feet bouncing along to an Eminem song or two.  I know, how can I be a Christian and listen to such music?  But the fact remains that I have neither sacrificed goats to satan nor have I shot people from the trunk of a car.  Mostly I listen to Country and Christian music.  I have and continue to read books such as The Da Vinci Code and my favorite author is Matthew Reilly, an author that writes novels that make the Die Hard movies seem boring.  But I also read the Bible and Cristian literature as well as the occasional classic.  I am reading Mark Twain’s, Huckleberry Finn now.  My favorite movie is Braveheart starring Mel Gibson, a movie filled with violence and death.  But I also thought The Passion was incredible and wept like a baby at parts of it.

One thing that does concern me more than others are video games.  I know, your thinking “here we go!”  But hear (or read) me out.  I believe in common sense.  I think things have to pass the common sense test.  And common sense tells me that when companies are creating video games about raping women as a means to aquire a higher score I think our common sense has become uncommon.  Why would they make this game if no one is buying it.  This is a fairly new game and in the report I read everyone on the street that was interviewed had never heard of it and would never buy it.  But, they wouldn’t make it if there wasn’t an audience.

There is so much junk in the world that I don’t believe we can keep up.  While I am against censorship, I am for common sense.  Common Sense would seem to me to dictate that this stuff never gets put on the market to begin with, but that is no longer true.  Everything has become acceptable online, in the movies or in music.  Again, I am against censorship, but I am all for censoring what I and my children view, hear or play.  And thats the point I want to make today.  YOU are responsible for what gets in your head and the heads of your children.  It is your responsibility to sort through and weed out the stuff that you feel is adverse to the way you believe and what is ethically responsible.  I hold companies accountable and so will God, but I hold each of us more severely accountable because the difference between listening to the wrong music, watching the wrong shows or playing the wrong games is a remote or mouse click away.

Check out this passage from the Bible and see what you think,

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.”  Philippians 4:8-9 (The Message)

While I admit this is not easy and maybe not even possible, it is definitely something to strive for.  I am not saying get rid of everything in your life that is non-biblical, I am still going to watch the Wolverine and Transformer 2 movies this summer.  I am planning to re-read Stephen Kings’ classic The Stand when I am finished with my current book.  What I mean is understand balance.  Just like Mr. Miyagi in The Karate Kid, “Better learn balance. Balance is key..”  We must have balance as well, hopefully the balance scale will be tipped to the “true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse” side of life.

Those annoying Capital One ads always ask at the end, “What’s in your wallet?”  Well, I ask you, “What’s in your head?”

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses

  1. Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll probably be subscribing to your posts. Keep up the good work

  2. Thank you! It’s so refreshing to read someone who understands that balance! I, too, am concerned with all the junk, but don’t believe in censorship. We need more spiritual leaders like yourself willing to speak like this. My generation especially needs to hear it!

Leave a Reply

