Politics & Religion- Uh Oh!


  I have been thinking recently about politics.  I know, never talk about politics, religion or sex.  Well, today I want to focus on two of the three; politics and religion.  politics and religion

  I do a lot of long distance driving.  While I am on the road talk radio keeps me awake more than music.  I like sports talk radio but I can’t get any stations on my route.  So I listen to political talk radio.  I listen to Rush, Hannity and some of the other “gods” of talk radio.  I like them.  They give good info, they make me think.  They also amp up the truth for their show.  I know this, you know this and they know this.  The “liberals” do it to.  They are all guilty.  Regardless, I like it.  One of the things that has been rolling around in my head lately is how are Christians to respond?  What track do we take in politics?  You have several different people and groups with several different views.  You have the Jerry Falwell’s of the world who campaign and go to extremes to put their beliefs and ideals into office.  You have the groups who believe Christians should not be involved in politics at all.  I am by no means an expert but I am a normal guy and I like learning about politics.

  Here’s my take-  I fall into the middle of the road camp on this one.  I am all for Christian politicians.  I just don’t think Christianity should be forced down anyone’s throat.  I am a registered Republican and voted as a Republican last election, although I won’t say who I voted for.  But I am a Moderate in my beliefs on politics.  I believe in the Christian ethics but I think it would be unhealthy for a Christian president to inhibit freedom by nationalizing his or her beliefs.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not for taking crosses off of state property or removing the Ten Commandments from court rooms or anything.  The ideals of Christianity are sound and if we lived by them regardless of religious choice we would be better off.  Who would argue with the Ten Commandments as a viable core to build a country around?  Not many I wager.  But to force the Christian belief system on anyone is to negate that same belief in freedom to choose, which God first gave Adam and Eve. 

  So, I’m a Moderate.  I like my President to have Christian morals and hold to those beliefs strongly, but if he/she differs from me on certain lesser ideals I don’t believe that it will cripple this country.  I don’t agree with President Obama on several issues but neither did I agree with President Bush on everything.  I liked President Bush and I hope at the end of his term I still like President Obama.  But either way, I will pray for him just as I did the presidents before him.

  Jesus tended to stay out of politics.  He focussed more on people.  As Christians if we were really doing our jobs and living Chist to this nation we wouldn’t even need to discuss politics.  As the people go, so go the nation.  Our leaders reflect us.  They believe what we tell them we want them to believe.  Most have no belief system other than what the voters want.  It’s how they stay in office.  If we want “change we can believe in” it starts in our homes, our grocery stores, our work place and our churches, not Washington.

1 Timothy 2:1-7

1-3The first thing I want you to do is pray. Pray every way you know how, for everyone you know. Pray especially for rulers and their governments to rule well so we can be quietly about our business of living simply, in humble contemplation. This is the way our Savior God wants us to live.

 4-7He wants not only us but everyone saved, you know, everyone to get to know the truth we’ve learned: that there’s one God and only one, and one Priest-Mediator between God and us—Jesus, who offered himself in exchange for everyone held captive by sin, to set them all free. Eventually the news is going to get out. This and this only has been my appointed work: getting this news to those who have never heard of God, and explaining how it works by simple faith and plain truth.  (The Message) (Emphasis Mine)

Chirstian Politics-

We should be Conservative in our beliefs, Liberal with our love and forgiveness and Moderate in our judgement of others.   Shawn Holmes

Leave a Reply

