Stay Thirsty My Friends!


 dos equisI have a confession.  I love the new Dos Equis commercials.  I know, I know, beer is bad.  If that’s your conviction I am ok with it, but it isn’t mine.  I like a beer every now and then.  But either side you fall on, those commercials are hilarious.  Have you seen them?  “He is the most interesting man in the world!”  Here are a few of the quotes that crack me up- “He once had an awkward moment, just to see how it felt.”  “He lives vicariously through himself.”  And his closing line- “Stay thirsty my friends.”  There are several others, feel free to google them.  But it is the last line I want to draw your attention to. 

  Are you spiritually thirsty?  Does it seem like your mouth is full of dust and your throat is like sandpaper?  Is the Bible a dry meal that has to be choked down every day?  Are your prayers an arid desert and you are trying to find the oasis?  I know I’m that way alot.  Sometimes it feels like I’m trying to swallow a sand sandwich.  My heart gets so dry it crusts over.  Are you there?  Am I alone?  I don’t think I am.  I am pretty sure there are a bunch of us.  Wandering in the desert, thirsty, alone, uncared for.  The day never seems to end.  The blessed coolness of night never begins.  All we can think of is water.  Spiritual hydration.  The Gatorade of the soul if you will. 

  Soon you start seeing mirages, shiny objects that bring fleeting pleasure.  A new car, a spouse, kids.  But none of these things last.  They all disappoint.  The thirst is quenched for a time but soon it returns, stronger and dryer than ever. 

  You start looking for anything that can ease it.  Affairs, gadgets, anything that makes life bearable.  Before you know it nothing satisfies.  Not even a Snickers.  snickersSorry, it was getting too deep.  

  But really, isn’t that how it goes.  We keep searching for that next high.  We keep trying to replace the things that haven’t met our expectations with even more things.  The definition of insannity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.  Thanks Mr. Eintein, you nailed that one. 

  Try something wholly different.  Try something out of the box.  Try this-

“Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. 38 If anyone believes in me, rivers of living water will flow out from that person’s heart, as the Scripture says.” John 7:37-38 (New Century Version)

  Jesus says, “If your thirsty, I’m Eternal Gatorade.”  “Soak yourself in Me!”  “Flood your soul with My love!”  The amazing thing is that if you drink enough then you will be overflowing and that “Living Water” will spill out into the world. 

  I read a friends blog earlier today and she was talking about a T.V. show that she loved, 7th Heaven.  She commented that in that show no matter what craziness and chaos was going on they always seemed to find time and ways to help others.  She also posed the question, why can’t real life be that way?  Excellent question.  It can be.  But to do it we need something greater than ourselves.  Imagine if all Christ-Followers were so filled with Jesus that He gushed out everywhere we went.  If people had to literally jump over the puddles of love that we left behind. 

  People loved Jesus, they mobbed Him constantly.  He always had crowds.  The only ones that disliked Jesus were the “religious” people of His day.  What would happen if all us “religious” people became “loving” people and just so radically showed the love of Jesus to everyone we met?  What would happen?

  People want to be loved.  It’s why we date, why we marry and why we divorce.  We are looking for love.  But unfortuanately we sound like that old country song, “Lookin for love in all the wrong places.”  Try Jesus.  Take a drink, then drink some more. 

Stay un-thirsty my friends!

Share this blog with your friends.

Bookmark and Share
4 Responses

  1. Thanks for the “link love”!

    “Imagine…if people literally had to jump over the puddles of love that we left behind.” I LOVE that imagery.

    …so how do we apply that while still going about our daily lives??…. I WANT to live and love that way, I know we all have the potential to…but how do we take it to the “next step”, so-to-speak?

  2. Nice post. I agree, there’s nothing wrong with a beer from time to time. Not in excess though, just like anything else in life. However, when I do have one, like tonight, it’s a Dos Equis, AMBER. “Stay thirsty my friends.”

  3. I have enjoyed the Dos Equis man ads as well and it has caused me to think deeper about what I want. This guy seems like the uncle you want to hang out with, but the reality is that I am thirsty for God. Great comments and scripture.

Leave a Reply

