The “I”s Have It


burning-bush I have been noticing recently that the Christian community is becoming increasingly self focused. Everything is about “me”. We are increasingly dedicated to finding our purpose or God’s will for our life. I hear people praying for a “Burning Bush Experience”. (see Moses and the Burning Bush) We want to know how we are important to God. We pray for God to speak to us. We ask God to give us signs. We want some mystical, magical experience to help us feel important. Well, what if we aren’t important? What if we just aren’t that important? When I read through the Bible I see some amazing ways that God spoke to people. He walked and talked with Adam. He spoke to Abraham in visions. He wrestled with Israel (the person, not the nation), he spoke to Moses through a burning bush. In the New Testement he knocked Paul of his high horse and made him blind. John got to see heaven in a vision that still perplexes and fills us with awe to this day. All amazing ways in which God revealed himself. All ways that left no doubt that God was speaking. But what about everyone else? What about Joe-Christ-Follower in the New Testament? There are what, ten or eleven amazing meetings with God in the New Testament? What about the hundreds and hundreds of other Christ-Followers?
Here’s the deal, they weren’t that important. Now don’t mis-understand. They were important to God, but not nesecarily important to His plan. Everyone of the big names in the Bible that had a “Burning Bush” experience, altered history in some way. Most of them weren’t looking for it and several didn’t want it. Check out Moses, he did everything he could to get out of it. But he was important to God’s plan so God wouldn’t leave him alone.
Am I important to God? YES! So are you! John 3:16 tells us that we were so important that God sent His only Son Jesus to die on the cross for my sins and yours, individually. He died for just me and just you. We are of the utmost importance to God. But that doesn’t mean we are priority in His plan. Think about this, I have been a military member for over 14 years. I have come to understand that few soldiers are “important”. Most of us are just soldiers, together we make a difference but singlely most of us don’t accomplish a lot. Well, we as Christians are also in an army of sorts, God’s army. Several references are made in the Bible to being a good soldier or training to fight. But most soldiers are just not that important.
Here’s my thoughts, feel free to disagree. Most of us have these great dreams of being a bigshot in God’s campaign but what He really needs are people to clean the toilets, take out the trash and wipe boogers off the walls in the nursery. He needs soldiers willing to fight and willing to follow. If pressed into leadership, as most figures in the Bible were, to be ready to lead but in the present be ready and willing to clean the latrine.
I have never seen a burning bush other than when we cleared our land and burned the limbs and trees we cut up. I have never been blinded by God nor have angels played trumpets in my ear loud enough to wake the dead. But I have been given orders. And those orders are clear. They are to “GO”! Go love people, go share the love of God with people. Go feed and clothe the poor. Go take care of the widows and orphans. Go make friends with the unfriendly. Go serve soup to outcasts.
Quit waiting for your “God Moment” or “God Vision” for your life and do the simple things He has already told us to do. “Love God with all your being.” “Love your neighbor the same way you love yourself.” Teach people about God. Important commands for all us unimportant people. It’s not about us, it’s about HIM! It’s not about us, it’s about OTHERS! I think that if we focused on doisoldier-1ng the small things we know we’re supposed to do instead of trying to “find our place in God’s will” a lot more would be accomplished and a lot less people would be struggling to survive.  Plus, the Bible says if we are faithful with the little unimportant things He will give us more important stuff to do.  If you want to be important you first must master the unimportant.
The mark of a good soldier is following orders, the mark of a great soldier is following orders without question.

3 Responses

  1. Shawn,
    You make me want to cry! I think you may have given me what I need to speak with my church. Do you mind if I share some of this with my church deacons???

    Thanks,
    Em

  2. Please do. I own nothing I write here. It all belongs to God.

  3. […] Response from a Reader Posted on July 1, 2009 by Shawn    The following letter is an email I received in response to a blog post I wrote a few weeks ago.  You can read the post HERE.  […]

Leave a Reply

