God’s Chisel


Watch the video below and then read the rest of the blog.  It’s about 8 minutes long and worth it.

What do you think?  Pretty much hits it right on the button doesn’t it?  When you look in the mirror what do you see?  Do you see Jesus or a Picasso rendition of you?  I know I don’t see Jesus.  I sometimes see a fuzzy overlay of Jesus, but never just Jesus.  Too much pride in the way, too much anger blurring the silhouette.  Lust is making it hazy, envy is turning it an ugly shade of green.  chisel hammer

When he told God he had let Him down and God said, “How could you let me down, you’re not holding me up.  I hold YOU up.”  I almost cried.  I feel like I let God down all the time.  Every time I screw something up I feel like I let God down.  But how amazing is God?  While we “let Him down” He is holding us up.  I’m not saying that’s a license  to sin, but it is a license to see ourselves as God sees us, with love and compassion.  I would rather work hard for someone because they love me than because I am fearful of them.

What reflection do you see in the mirror?

“…reflecting like mirrors the brightness of the Lord.”  2 Corinthians 3:18 (JB)

Bookmark and Share

6 Responses

  1. God loves us in spite of who we are because we are His handiwork. We are His masterpiece. God has a hobby that He enjoys doing … and we are it!

    But we sooo want to earn His love and respect and that is why we have this need to get better for him, which is impossible.

    Self-debasement is not a humble form of worship. In fact, it is in effect saying to God that He didn’t do a good enough job.

    When Jesus cried, “It is finished,” IT WAS! Why can’t we just believe that and then let God do with us whatever He wills? But no, we have to be ‘doing something’ to earn His love.

    Jesus always commended those who displayed faith in Him and His abilities … and He chastised those who continually had no faith in Him when they should have had it.

    The way I see it, anyway …

  2. @ wellwateredgarden- Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the comment. I am not sure if you are agreeing or disagreeing. I completely agree with what you say and I think this post does as well. We can never “work” hard enough to earn God’s love. He loves us because He loves us. But I also believe that we should be “doing” whatever we can to show our love for Him. We need to constantly be examining our lives to see in what areas we need to improve.
    When I said “I would rather work hard for someone because they love me than because I am fearful of them.” I didn’t mean that to come off as trying to repay God but as an actual fact. I have worked hard at my church and at other peoples home to thank God and to show God’s love to others. Crawling through the attic in my church to install speaker and video wires was hot and hard, but I did it because I love Him. Hope that clears things up a bit.
    Shawn H

  3. I am so glad Jesus gives me second and third and fourth and fifth and sixth and seventh chances.

  4. When I look in the mirror … I see a person whom God sent His Son, Jesus Christ of Nazareth, to earth to die for and save.

    May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with both of you. PTL!

  5. Brother, no comment. You know where I am right now, and you knew that God would use this to reach out to me! Thank you.

    (thank you God for holding me up)

  6. Hey Nathan, thanks for your note. I did, but only because God told me it would.
    ShawnH

Leave a Reply

