Daddy’s Girl


“Daddy, I just want to spend time with you.”          Those words were uttered  by my 4 year old daughter on July 4th as my family and I were watching the fireworks at a friends house.  I was standing behind my wife holding my daughters hand and she started to pull me.  I bent over and asked what she was doing and she said, “I want to take a walk with you Daddy.”  I asked her why she didn’t want to watch the fireworks and that’s when she hit me with, “Daddy, I just want to spend time with you.”  I consider myself a tough guy.  I don’t show or even have a large emotional side.  I rarely cry, once when I got kicked in the no-no’s and twice during a movie, when they shot Old Yeller and when the Mom in Stepmom told her ex she was dying.  I have no idea why I cried at the last one but I thought about what it would be like for my Mom to die and that got me.  I think those are the three exceptions in a guys life to cry about- death of a good dog, being kicked in the groin and thinking about or the actual dying of one’s Mom. 

  At first I was going to tell her no.  I mean, it’s fireworks, stuff is blowing up!  That’s every guys dream, to blow something up.  We like explosions that’s why movies like Diehard and Lethal Weapon 1-4 were such awesome movies.  But more important than explosions is a father’s love of his daughter.  She is a Daddy’s girl and I am quite happy with that.  She has me wrapped around her finger and we both know it and we both like it.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my son and my other daughter just as much, but her and I click.  Don’t worry, my Mom and my son click and my youngest daughter and my wife click. 

  As soon as she said she wanted to spend time with me my heart melted.  I bent down just a little farther and whispered in her ear, “Daddy wants to spend time with you to.” and off we went for our walk.  It wasn’t very far and it wasn’t very long but it was very special.  Holding hands and walking.  Not really talking, not really going anywhere, just a father and his daughter spending time together. 

  Sometimes I miss those special moments.  They are there a lot but sometimes I am just “too busy” being alive and not truly living.  Darius Rucker sings a song  called “It Won’t Be Like This For Long”  Check it out at the end of this post.

  I think our relationship with God is similar.  Not that He is to busy to take time for us but that He is just waiting for us to say, “I just want to spend time with you Daddy.”  He loves us so much and wants the relationship we have to be that intimate, that loving.  He wants us to run to Him, jump into His arms and put our arms around His neck and just whisper in His ear, “I just want to spend time with you Daddy.” 

  Check this verse out-

This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike "What’s next, Papa?" God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children.  Romans 8:15-16  (The Message)

Papa!  Daddy!  Intimate names used during times of intimate conversations.  Sometimes my son calls me Dad, usually when He is in trouble or wants something.  Other times he calls me Daddy, usually when he is hurt or scared.  We use different names at different times.  Don’t worry about talking to God like you would talk to the President or a king.  Sometimes that is justified, but when we are alone with God, just spending time with Him, we can call Him Daddy. 

What’s your time alone with God like?  Can you call Him Daddy or do you stick to formal names like Lord, God and Father?

 

Did you like this post? Please share it with your friends and leave a comment. I would love to read your thoughts and opinions.

 

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. So quickly we forget that God is our Daddy. We forget to have that intimate relationship with him. We have made ourselves children with “visitation rights”, instead of children with inheritance rights!
    I am seeing that in a time of crisis I call out, but it seems that when everything is going smooth I can’t really find time for Him.
    He loves me enough to be there when I cry out, but I know that if my own children only wanted me when they cried out I would be crushed!
    Thank you, Brother, for this reflection!

  2. Reflections of a Mirror! That’s the name!! God is teaching me through all of these posts. Pretty much each post is something God is showing me in my own life that I need to work on, that I need to let Him work on in me.
    ShawnH

  3. As a HUGE Daddy’s girl myself, I really super-clicked with this post. My dad and I think a lot alike, but those few areas where we don’t become very sensitive simply because neither one of us wants to argue or disagree. We can’t bear to see each other upset or disappointed. I am slowly starting to accept that even when he’s wrong (b/c of course, he’s the one wrong, not me. lol) his views and actions are done/given out of love, which conquers all and is enough. I cannot deny our differences simply b/c I adore him. I am certain your daughter will learn that someday, as well. Anyway bla-bla-bla, I’m kinda rambling. What does this have to do with your post? Well, I was upset, had to walk away from the world and logged into cyber-space. Didn’t think I was blaming my dad for my anger til I read your post and went, “huh. Ya, I really don’t ‘wanna spend time’ with my father right now.” Your tale of your father-daughter walk warmed my heart and brought tears to my eyes b/c it reminded me of a father-daughter date I went on not that long ago and the memories I made. There is no bond so special. Anyway, this is my very lengthy way of saying,”Thanks once again, Shawn. You have impeccable timing.” 🙂

    Blessings,
    Em

  4. @ Em,
    Glad you were blessed by this post. Maybe you should go grab your Dad’s hand and tell him you just want to spend some time with him.
    ShawnH

Leave a Reply

