What to Do with Michael Jackson


  thriller-michael-jackson

   What to do about Michael Jackson.  As I search through the internet I see a WIDE variety of reaction to the news of Michael’s death.  Everything from “ultimate devastation” to “who cares”.  Some are crying and weeping and others are happy he’s dead.  Some, like myself, are sad that he has passed away but not really loosing sleep over it while others are planning all night vigils by his grave site (if it’s ever revealed).    The news said his Memorial Service may have been the most watched T.V. broadcast ever.  Proof that this is an important moment in time, just as Elvis’ death, Martin Luther King Jr.’s death, President Kennedy’s assassination and 9-11 all represent days of impact.

  So what do we as Christians do with it?  I am not going to debate his past, nor am I going to discuss his dirty laundry.  I don’t know what actually happened any more than any of you.  Was he guilty or innocent?  Who knows?  No one other than Michael, the children involved and God.  So let’s not go there.

  What I do want to talk about is what Christ-Followers should be doing.  Last night I messaged my wife to see how she was doing and tell her I was heading to bed (for those who don’t know, I am TDY with the Florida Air National Guard).  She replied she was watching Michael Jackson’s funeral service and crying about it.  I’ll admit my first thought was, “Why?”  But then God gently spoke to me and reminded me of one of the fundamental bedrocks of a great marriage.  It doesn’t matter how I feel about something, my Wife’s feelings are valid and real and I should respond to her the same way I would want her to respond to me. 

  So I asked if I could call her.  She said yes so I did.  She got on the phone and was sniffling a little.  I asked her if she was all right and she said she was doing fine until she saw his children sitting down front and thought about how horrible it must be for them to loose their father and then be paraded in front of thousands upon thousands of people.  She said she also felt like she had lost a friend even though she didn’t know him.  My wife then explained how she and her brother used to dance around the house to Michael Jackson songs and when she was sad about something she would listen to some of his songs and feel better.  Then it all made sense to me.  She was grieving not just for another human being that had died, but for the innocence of childhood that she held in her memories.  She also had compassion for his children and his family that had lost their brother.  I feel blessed to have such a wonderful wife.

  I know something of this, my younger brother had a stint put in a couple years ago and we almost lost him.  Another thought that struck me was, how would my kids feel if I died and they had to grow up without a father?

  After our talk she started feeling better, I gently asked if she wanted me to pray for her.  She said no, but that she wanted me to pray for his family and especially his children.  I did just that (and I snuck a prayer in for her as well) and I was able to minister to my wife.

  And that’s the point of this post, this is an opportunity to show the love of Jesus to people that are hurting and thinking about their own deaths.  Now is the time to speak with them and offer the comfort that only Jesus can provide.  Not as a sales pitch but with all the love and compassion that Jesus, through us, can offer.

  You see, Jesus’ heart breaks with compassion and love for those that are grieving, ours should too.

Not long after that, Jesus went to the village Nain. His disciples were with him, along with quite a large crowd. As they approached the village gate, they met a funeral procession—a woman’s only son was being carried out for burial. And the mother was a widow. When Jesus saw her, his heart broke. He said to her, "Don’t cry." Then he went over and touched the coffin. The pallbearers stopped. He said, "Young man, I tell you: Get up." The dead son sat up and began talking. Jesus presented him to his mother.  Luke 7:11-15  (The Message) emphasis mine

Did you like this post? Please share it with your friends and leave a comment. I would love to read your thoughts and opinions.

Bookmark and Share

6 Responses

  1. RIP MJ – you will always be remembered. For fans, I found a bunch of great videos of MJ at this site – http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=E4F6BA890099828C

  2. Hey Petey, thanks for dropping by. My two fav’s were Beat It and Thriller. But I also liked Bad as well.
    ShawnH

  3. i as a child was over hills in with micheal jackson, he was quote un quote my idol, i had lots of articles on him as i grew older. over the years i didnt listen to him as i do believed i stilled cared. as i found out of his passing all child hood memories came back and i find myself missing him and grieving, however i pray THE LORD GOD TOUCHES EACH AND EVERY PERSON WHO IS AFFECTED BY HIS GOING AWAY. LORD PLEASE BLESS HIS FAMILY THE GIFT OF SALVATION IN JESUS NAME AMEN

  4. Hi April,
    Your words are very true and so is your prayer. Amy and I prayed a very similar prayer last night. My prayers are with you as well.
    ShawnH

  5. When i read this blog, the words that jumped out at me are “days of impact”. While we experience these on a global scale in so many ways, living brings with it personal days of impact, kick in the gut days that irreversibly change our lives as we have lived them, and leave you struggling to find how to make the world start turning again. Days of impact can become weeks, months and even years of pain, a desert experience where you wander alone, but God is with you always. There is no place you can go that I will not be there. There is no problem or struggle so great that I can’t help you. When you have lost all hope, cry out to me as Jonah did and I will hear you. Jonah 2:1-2. Days of impact, times of incredible pain, though often we need to stay in these spaces to understand, grow and heal, we do not need to sit alone.

  6. Thank you Beverly,
    Beautifully said and very true.
    ShawnH

Leave a Reply

