Humpty Dumpty and Jesus


humpty_dumpty

Humpty Dumpty

Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall;
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall.
All the King’s horses
And all the King’s men
Couldn’t  put Humpty together again!

 

  Who hasn’t heard this nursery rhyme before?  We all probably had it read to us hundreds of times as a small child and those of us with kids have probably read it to them just as many times.  It is as ingrained in our brains as the Pledge of Allegiance and the Lord’s Prayer.  First let me say, why wasn’t Humpty D wearing a 5-Point Safety harness?  Second, what in the world do horses have to do with putting him back together again?  They don’t have opposable thumbs.  Just curious!

  But good old Humpty is worth another, deeper look.  Have you ever felt like Humpty D?  Have you ever “fallen” and felt like you broke in a thousand pieces?  Did people, friends and family all gather around you and try as hard as they can to “put you back together again” but failed?  I’ve been there.  Amy is my second wife.  My first marriage was a disaster.  I won’t go into detail about it but let’s just say when it was over I was all kinds of broken.  Friends, family and friends I now consider family gathered around me and tried to help me put myself back together.  Through their love and encouragement I was able to heal and become pretty much whole again.  The final two pieces were my wife Amy and my recommitment to Jesus.  My marriage to Amy is like a gentle and cooling breeze on an unbearable hot and humid day.  My relationship with Jesus was and is a balm on an open sore, cleaning and healing my soul. 

  We have all fallen of the wall.  We have all felt cracked and broken.  When the fall happens, and it will, reach out to those that truly love you.  Reach out to Jesus and allow Him to comfort and heal you. 

  If you know someone who is hurting and alone, broken and suffering- reach out like my friends did for me.  Show the love of Jesus to them.  It may be messy and you will get yolk on your hands and piecing together that shell isn’t easy, but the reward of a restored brother or sister is worth it.

“Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do. I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.”  Mark 2:17  (New Living Translation)

Remember- All the kings horses and all the kings men couldn’t do it, but Jesus, the King of Kings sure can.

(Authors Note- If this post brought up memories of the dance song “The Humpty Dance” you have my sincere apologies.  If it did not, don’t go looking for it.  It is not worth your time.)

Did you like this post? Please share it with your friends and leave a comment. I would love to read your thoughts and opinions.

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. Shawn:

    You’re on the mark!

    And – a really good writer!!!

    Keep up the good work.

    -MPB

  2. Thanks for the kind words Mike.
    ShawnH

  3. Wonderful, wise words, Shawn. Reminds me of that Mark Shultz song, “I have been there”–well, the chorus part of it, anyway.

    Blessings,
    Em

  4. Thanks Em!

Leave a Reply

