The Name Game


name   What’s in a name?  Why do names matter?  Are they really that important?  I have three children.  Each of them has a unique name.  I wanted to name one Larry and the other two Darryl.  If you don’t understand the reference go HERE!  But, fortunately for my kids, my wife disagreed.  So we spent months with each child trying to figure out what to name them.  Initials were important, We didn’t want them to spell out P.M.S. or anything.  My last name is Holmes, so Mo William was out (Mo Bill, Mobile Holmes, yeah, I tried unsuccessfully for that combo to.)  Names have meanings, and there are hundreds and hundreds of books and websites dedicated to that.  For instance, my name means “God’s Gift”, to which my wife quickly points out, not to women.  My Mom’s name means “Warrior Maiden”, if you have met my Mom, she lives up to this.

But even more important than our name, is the name we call Jesus.  What name do you use for Him?  Do you call Him Lord, Savior, Master, Provider?  Maybe you just call Him Jesus.  This is important, and I don’t want you to to scan over it, so take a second and push slow mo on your brains remote for a bit.  Right now you are at a certain place in your life, maybe your in a bad place and life seems to be falling apart.  Maybe you just came out of that bad place and God did something incredible that helped you through it.  Maybe you are on that mountain top we were looking at yesterday and life is the best it has ever been.  No matter where you are right now I want you to answer the same question that Jesus asks Peter in the following verses,

13 When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?”[a]

14 “Well,” they replied, “some say John the Baptist, some say Elijah, and others say Jeremiah or one of the other prophets.”

15 Then he asked them, “But who do you say I am?”

16 Simon Peter answered, “You are the Messiah,[b] the Son of the living God.”

Matthew 16:13-16 (New Living Translation) emphasis mine

“Who do you say I am?”  Who is Jesus to you right now?  To Peter, he was the Messiah.  The messiah was the promised and expected deliverer of the Jewish people.  This is who they had been waiting for.  He was the fulfillment of prophecy from the Old Testament.  That’s who He was to them.  But who is He to you?  Right now?  At this moment in time?eye_of_god

In the Old Testament God had many, many names.  For a downloadable list of most of those names click HERE!  God’s name changed as He met different needs.  To some He was God Almighty.  To others He was God, the One Who Sees.  He was also named, The LORD our Provision , The LORD Heals and my favorite- God Everlasting.  These are just a few.  Download that list.  It is really good. 

Jesus’ name changes as well.  He is called The Way, The Son of God, Redeemer,  Brother, Husband of the Church, Savior, Master and Truth.  And while there are many other names what special name do you have for Him?  A friend of mine has just learned to call Him Healer.  Another friend I know probably calls Him Relationship Fixer.  Maybe you call Him Friend.  I hope that all of you can call Him Savior and Master.

Jesus-2 Why do I think this is important?  Why a whole blog about this?  Because names have meaning.  And the name you call Jesus or God has meaning for you.  It will show you where you’re at in your life.  Right now I call Him Sustainer because He is sustaining me while I am away from my family.  I also call Him Friend because it is lonely in a 10’ X 10’ room day after day.  Think about what you call Him, see if it doesn’t shed some light on your place in life.

Or maybe you want to call Him what you want Him to be in your life.  Maybe you don’t feel like He is with you when you are lonely, call Him Friend anyway.  Maybe you are hurting and sick and what you need is a healer.  Call Him “The One Who WILL Heal Me”.  That’s what Peter did, Jesus had not delivered them yet when Peter called Him the Messiah.  Peter was going on faith.

Who do you say He is?  It’s important! 

Did you like this post? Did you hate it? Please share it with your friends and leave a comment. I would love to read your thoughts and opinions.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

