The Importance of Importance


1 What’s important to you?  How much you weigh?  What color your car is?  Will your kid go to college?  Will you die young or live to be 100?  Will your husband ever take out the trash?  (I’ll do it this weekend when I get home Honey, promise) 

What do you place value on?  Sometimes we place too much importance where it doesn’t belong and not enough where it does. 

I almost didn’t write this post.  God laid something heavy on my heart this morning and I thought he was changing today’s direction but when I sat down and brought up what I had started writing last night I realized He hadn’t changed it, but added to it.  He gave me a new depth. 

21 From that time on Jesus began telling his followers that he must go to Jerusalem, where the Jewish elders, the leading priests, and the teachers of the law would make him suffer many things. He told them he must be killed and then be raised from the dead on the third day.

22 Peter took Jesus aside and told him not to talk like that. He said, "God save you from those things, Lord! Those things will never happen to you!"

23 Then Jesus said to Peter, "Go away from me, Satan![a] You are not helping me! You don’t care about the things of God, but only about the things people think are important."  Matthew 16:21-23  (New Century Version)

You remember Peter from yesterday’s post right?  Jesus asked Peter “Who am I?” and Peter said, “The Messiah, the Son of the Living God.”  Good stuff.  Powerful stuff.  Peter’s on his game stuff.  Then, a few verses later, in the same chapter, Jesus calls him Satan.  The word Satan can also be translated “enemy”.  In essence, Jesus is calling Peter His enemy.  Peter goes from champ to chump in seven verses.  Why?  Same reason he ended up taking an unexpected dip in the sea (Matthew 14:22-33).  He cared more about where he was at than who He was with.  The things that “people” think are important. 

Why don’t we care about the things of God more?  Why aren’t His concerns our concerns?  Why is it we can’t see what is important?  Do you know what’s important?  Really and truly important?  Your relationship with God and your relationships with others.  At church last weekend the Pastor talked about the two Great Commands of Jesus, Love God and Love Others. 

Here is where this is coming from.  For the last few months all I have been doing it seems is talking to people with real problems.  Problems with relationships, problems with marriages, problems with alcohol.  Problems with abuse, problems with homosexuality.  Loneliness, depression, and fear.  Life destroying problems.

You know what I can’t stand?  Bumper Sticker Christians.  They live their faith like they decorate their bumpers.  One sentence solutions to an encyclopedia of problems. 

My friends, Philippians 4:13 and  Psalms 23 are not going to solve people’s problems.  Saying, “I’ll pray for you!” is not going to fix things, especially when you forget to actually pray.  The ONLY thing these responses do is show how much you couldn’t care less.  If you want to help someone, don’t tell them you’ll pray for them, grab their hand and pray WITH them.  Do the second Great Command- Love Them!

Sit and talk, hold their hand, put a towel on your shoulder and let them soak it with their tears.  There are a lot of hurting people out there.  People going through hell.  And you know what, most of them are looking for us, but were hiding .  Hiding in our church, our mini-van, behind our schedule and behind a facade of Christian Love. 

One young man that I have been talking and praying with told me, “Until I met you I had ONE Christian friend that was trying to tell me to follow God and get out of the life I am living.”  This young man is a new Christian, he had one Christian friend.  Where were the rest of us?  Where was I?  Why wasn’t I doing more?1-1

I know this has been a little heavy.  I wish it wasn’t, but this morning I was crushed by the thought of how much hurt God has to look at every day because I am not doing everything I can to love others.  Maybe you are doing all that you can. If that is you, May God bless you!  May God strengthen you!  And may God give you rest when you find time to sleep. 

But for the rest of us, myself included, I have one simple question.

Can’t we do more?

 

Did you like this post? Did you hate it? Please share it with your friends and leave a comment. I would love to read your thoughts and opinions.

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses

  1. Loved this post. I felt like I saw you, as an author, in it even moreso than others you’ve written. The way you asked questions and stated outright what annoyed you–very personal and obvious.

    My favorite line: ” this morning I was crushed by the thought of how much hurt God has to look at every day because I am not doing everything I can to love others.”

  2. Thanks Em.

Leave a Reply

