The Heavenly Coin Flip


The other day someone came to me and told me that she wanted to start reading the Bible and asked where she should start.  I told her that my advice is to start with the book of John.  ~It’s easy to read and all about Jesus~ SO she looks at me and says, "OK, but I’m going to start in the Old Testament with Genesis."  I know, why ask me then right?  No biggie, happens all the time.  So I told her that Genesis was a fine place to start and she merrily went on her way.  A few weeks later she came back to me and asked if she could skip some parts.  I asked, "You got to the "begats" didn’t you?"  I told her not to worry, they don’t last that long.  Yesterday she tells me that she was quitting reading the Old Testament and going to read John because another friend had recommended that she start there.  I was like, "Really?  That’s great, wait, didn’t I mention that to you a month and a half ago?" 

We do that all the time though don’t we?  We ask a question hoping that the answer "we" want will be verified and seconded by the person we are asking.  We want our answer.  Almost like we are just asking out of respect for that person, not because we want a real answer. 

Or maybe she didn’t know the answer until she asked it and as she was asking she realized what she wanted.  I ran across this picture the other day and it got me to thinking about this subject, take a look.coin

Pretty true though isn’t it?  Once we flip that coin, 9 times out of 10 we are hoping it lands on one particular side and in that moment clarity is attained.

We do this with asking advice from others but we also do it when talking with God.  We come to God with the pretense of seeking His will, asking His direction but secretly hoping He will verify and bless our agenda, our idea.  We have our own motives and inwardly we decide long before going to God what we are going to do.  But we pray anyway.  We come to Him out of some thin veil of respect almost as if to say, "This is what I plan to do, if you don’t like it then stop me, otherwise it’s what I’m going to do." 

The Bible says,

7 "Ask, and God will give to you. Search, and you will find. Knock, and the door will open for you. (Matthew 7:7, New Century Version)

Ask, don’t inform.  Search, don’t direct.  Knock, don’t force. 

None of those three actions, asking, searching and knocking, imply that our will be done.  Actually in the Lords prayer it says "Your (God’s) will be done, on earth as it is in heaven." 

So before doing the Heavenly Coin flip, make sure you aren’t going into it with your own agenda.  Allow God the freedom to show you His plan and then have the sense to accept it as is. 

Don’t manipulate it your way but instead follow it His way.


It’s all about Him,

Shawn

Did you like this post? Did you hate it? Please share it with your friends and leave a comment below. I would love to read your thoughts and opinions. Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

twitter stumble reddit digg facebook-iconsm
You can also check out the Other Resources page for Bible Study Helps as well as links to media downloads, all free!
Want to show God’s love in a practical way and let people know where they can go for more info or help? Take a look at the DUO page.

Questions? Don’t forget to visit the Questions??Questions?? page and let me know. I will try to answer it the best I can. No Quantum Physics or Time Travel questions please!

Einstein

I’m not Einstein!

2 Responses

  1. SO TIMELY SHAWN! Thank you!

  2. Any time Aimee, thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

