Why? Part 1

Questions: we all have them.  question-mark

We have been taught to “Question Everything!”  Question parents, question teachers, question questions.  Question everything.  Nothing is sacred.  A few generations ago very few people questioned Christianity.  Most people just accepted things on blind faith.  If something happened it was just supposed to happen.  It was even considered by some to be a sin to question God.  Now, it’s a sin not to.  It is our responsibility to question.  It’s our right to question, isn’t it?  Shouldn’t we be able to question God?  When something doesn’t go according to our plans shouldn’t we be able to question God about it?  When something terrible happens isn’t it ok to question God and seek a reason?

Well the answer to that is yes and no.  Not much help is it?  You’re looking for definites and unfortunately I don’t have definite answers to give you.  Allow me to share an explanation of my two at odds answers.

Yes-

I serve a big God.  I serve an all-powerful, all-knowing and all-present God.  At least that’s what the Bible tells me.  You may differ in your belief but what I read in the Bible says He is all of those things.  Since this is my blog we will use that statement as a statement of fact.  Holding to that belief I make this supposition.  If God is all-powerful, all-knowing and all-present then doesn’t it stand to reason that my questions would not; a) surprise Him, b) stump Him or c) anger Him?  I don’t believe they would.  I don’t think I can catch God off guard.  I don’t think He would be taken aback by the questions my mind can conceive of.  And let’s face it, I’m not asking Him anything He hasn’t been asked since the dawn of the human race.  I’m an intelligent individual but I am no where near Einstein or Freud or Darwin for that matter.  Stephen Hawking doesn’t have to worry that I will de-throne him as the top dog in the big brains department.

What is the favorite question asked by all little children?  Why?  Usually ad-nauseam until you get frustrated and say, “Cause that’s the way God made it, now stop asking me why!”  Children learn by asking “Why?”  And we learn by asking God “Why?”.  Here is a great post on this subject.  Take a look, it’s a quick read.  “Flowerdust.net”

So my first answer is, yes.  It is ok to question God.  It is ok to wonder why God allowed something to happen that we either don’t understand or don’t agree with.  However I would stress that you need to take a look at the reason behind your questions.  Are you asking to learn or are you questioning Gods’ ability to be God?  There is a difference.  Jesus questioned God, While in the garden Jesus prayed and asked God if He had to go through the punishment that was coming.  And again, while on the cross, He asked God why He had forsaken Him.  Neither question was directly answered by God but we never see Jesus questioning Gods’ ability to be God.  The questions were asked and the silence that followed was enough of an answer for Jesus.

David, who is called “a man after God’s own heart”, questioned God.  See if you can feel the pain and anguish in David’s cry to God for answers.

“God, God…my God! Why did you dump me
miles from nowhere?
Doubled up with pain, I call to God
all the day long. No answer. Nothing.
I keep at it all night, tossing and turning.” Psalm 22:1-2 (The Message)

God doesn’t strike David down, nor does He tell Him to shut-up.  God listens and deals with David’s heart.  Check out David’s tune a few verses later-

1-3 God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
you let me catch my breath
and send me in the right direction.

4 Even when the way goes through
Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
makes me feel secure.

5 You serve me a six-course dinner
right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
my cup brims with blessing.

6 Your beauty and love chase after me
every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God
for the rest of my life.  Psalm 23 (The Message)

God likes the questions of a sincere heart, a sincere heart that wants to learn about Him.  Just realize that you may not get the answer that you want.

Tomorrow- Part 2 The “No” answer…..


Bookmark and Share